From C# to Go: A Rewiring Tale

Nelson Parente
7 min readOct 29, 2022
Photo by Hans-Peter Gauster on Unsplash

Hi there folks!

It’s been some time since my last article, but I’m back to speak about my latest months after joining a new company and having to rewire my brain to think in a Go-way. It has been a crazy and awesome ride!

I’ve been working professionally mostly with the Microsoft stack. You know who are the usual suspects here: C#, .NET, Visual Studio, Azure, etc. Working with these has been great. There are no major flaws that I can point out personally, but at the end of the day, these are just tools that should be used for the right problems.

As an engineer, we should never stick just to knowing and being familiar with one single set of tools. We should always know what the right tools are for the right problem. So, even though I enjoyed working with this tech stack and was a huge fan of C# and .NET, I felt that I was missing tools in my toolbox and that somehow limited my options when evaluating solutions.

This article will focus on the change that I think was more disruptive to me as a Backend Engineer, the programming language. I’ve been learning many other new technologies along the way, learning the new company processes and how the team likes to work and communicate, but the one that has had the most impact on my daily work was changing from C# to Go.

--

--